Lorelei’s Awards

Winning Writers North Street Book Prize

On February 15, 2023, Winning Writers announced the winners of the Eighth Annual North Street Book Prize for self-published books. Lorelei Kay’s memoir From Mormon to Mermaid won FIRST PRIZE!

Winning Writers is one of the “101 Best Websites for Writers” (Writer’s Digest, 2015-2019, 2022) and one of the “100 Best Websites for Writers” (The Write Life, 2016).

Dog Ear Publishing

The original publisher of From Mormon to Mermaid awarded Lorelei Kay’s Memoir their coveted Literary Award of Excellence!

The Managing Editor at Dog Ear Publishing, Stephanie Seiiert-Stringham, gives Lorelei’s memoir high praises. She says, “I love this book. It is a deep look at what it’s like to be a women in the Mormon Church. The author shares her story with humor, affection, irony, and grace. She describes her journey frankly, and touchingly. This is definitely an enlightening look into Mormonism and its unique peculiarities.”

eLit Awards

From Mormon to Mermaid was honored as the Gold Medal Winner, the highest award in the field of Memoir, from eLit Awards!

The eLit Awards are an annual program committed to illuminating and honoring the very best of English language digital publishing entertainment. The eLit awards are an industry-wide, unaffiliated awards program open to all members of the electronic publishing industry. The contest is presented by Jenkins Group Inc., a Michigan-based book publishing and marketing services company that has operated the popular independent Publisher Book Awards contest since 1996.

Shelf Unbound

Shelf Unbound recognized From Mormon to Mermaid in their annual competition as Runner-up for best independently published book!

Shelf Unbound was given an A+ rating by the American Institute of Philanthropy.

2021 SGVPF Broadside Contest Winner – Lorelei Kay